Deception: Chapter 11

 

“I don’t care what he has to say though Chris. He’s working my nerves.” I walked briskly along the path of our house to wherever I could think to go.

“Do you even know where the hell you going? You walking around in a tank top and some damn boxers Chey. COLLECT YOSELF FOO!” Chris pushed me and I stumbled a little. I couldn’t even get mad, I was pressed over something I didn’t have to be pressed over. I reevaluated myself and tried my best to calm down. “Now where was it we were going?” Chris circled around me while I stood there dumbfounded.

“Uh, well I gotta call from Dina at the store and she told me to come in so,” my voice trailed off, “yeah, you wanna go with me? They got some nice shoes in there.” I walked back towards the house.

“Yeah, I wanna see what I’ll be copping with that friends and family discount.” He clapped his hands and rubbed them together violently while licking his lips with a devilish glare.

“Eww, nigga stop that’s creepy!” I ran up the steps, not noticing a skinny figure off to the side until a heard a grunt behind me. There stood Larry, looking up smiling. My stomach dropped, but for good reasons. I jumped off the porch into his arms; stumbling back he finally was able to compose his balance and hold me tight, leaving a kiss to my cheek. “Larry!” I sang positioning my face into the space where is neck and shoulders met. “Tu m’as manqué tellement d’amour (I missed you so much love)!” My voice was barely audible to anyone around but I knew he completely understood.

“I mees you too baby girl.” I giggled at his accent and how he tried to pronounce miss. “You see my brother here?” I jumped from out his arms and stood up straight.

“Yeah, he’s in there with Diablo.” I felt my whole attitude did a 180 at the mention of Laurent so I know Larry had to sense the tension.

“What is wrong?”

I shrugged him off politely and walked back in the house with him following behind me. “Nothing, they’re in Diablo’s room. I’m about to go to the store and talk to this girl up there about something. I’ll be back later.” I pushed him out the room and put on some clothes. I was so close to being on the verge of hating Laurent, but that’s such a strong word I figured I’d stick with the phrase ‘strong distaste’. I slipped on my glasses and jogged up the steps to hear some muffled murmuring between Larry, Laurent, and Diablo. When they saw me it stopped. I looked at the three of them, squinting unsure of what they were saying that had to stop because I came back up the main floor. “Ohh-Kay.” I sang and grabbed a jacket. “Chris come on.” I walked to my dad’s car and headed towards my destination. I smiled to myself concocting a scheme in my head. I figured I would handle some business and add some pleasure to it too while I was at it. Why not kill two birds with one stone?

___

“I was wondering if you wanted to come over to my house tonight. I’m trying to get a lil sum sum jump started for you girl.” I begged Dina to come with me back to my house.

“Why?” She whined. “Is someone gonna be over there or something?”

I smiled evily and then flashed my otherwise pleasant grin, “Yeah, Laurent.” She gasped and shook her head from side to side.

“Uh-uh, nope, no way José, not gonna do it.” She proceeded to walk away, her hair flowing behind her elegantly as she created her own gust of wind.

“Come on, what’s the worst that could happen?” I continued trying to persuade her.

“After the incident last week at McDonald’s HELL NO, I bet he thinks I’m some kind of nerd or some shit.” She turned around with oddly placed fear in her eyes.

I shook my head, I was about to pawn Laurent off on someone who really wanted him. I didn’t even care anymore. I wasn’t about to have it. No sir, not having it. “No,” I sang with wide eyes, knowing I was lying my ass off at this point, “he said he wanted to see you again. I promise you Dina girl.” I watched her as he face it up and her eyes flashed with a certain brightness I’d never noticed before.

“Okay, I get off in 20 minutes, and you’re first day is tomorrow. You close with me though; Margie has personal business to handle.” Chris walked up behind me and wrapped his lanky arm around my waist. “Who is this girl?” Her eyes bounced back and forth between me and my brother.

“He’s my little brother, well big little brother in my case.” Chris stood a good shoulder over me meaning he was around 6 foot maybe even closer to the twin’s heights. “Get off my boy.” I nudged him away only to have him slid right back into me connecting at my hip again. “Ugh, you met my little sister Chelsey. So now you have the dishonor of meeting my raggedy ass ignorant, blockhead of a sibling aka Christopher.” Chris stepped back and cut me a look that made me burst out in laughter.

“Hi.” Chris held out his hands, which were covered completely in ash.

“Nigga do you own lotion and shit?! That’s nasty! Meeting my coworkers all ashy looking like momma dropped you in some permanent baby power or something. FIX THAT!” I looked at his hand disgusted.

“SHUT UP! You dragged me out he house when you knew I had just took a shower dweeb!” He countered.

“Touché, touché.” I nodded and smiled. “Well this is Dina. So I’m gonna go take him to buy a life time supply of lotion and we’ll be back to come pick you up … or did you drive?” I looked for a car out front in the parking lot and didn’t see one. As I was walking out of the door, Chris slammed my face into the glass door. “YOU STANK ASS PIECE OF …” my voice trailed off once I remembered where I was. I turned around in a rush to see all the people shopping in the store staring at me in shock, “I’m sorry. Dina, back in 20. Be ready.”

As soon as I got out of the store and a safe distance away from the windows I put him in a choke hold. I don’t care how old or big he got, he wasn’t gonna be embarrassing me.

***All “Deception” stories are written by Les Twins fan, Alexis Daniels

Leave a Reply

