Once In A Lifetime: The Final Chapter

“I found a man I can trust, and boy I believe in us.”

   – Christina Aguilera, Bound to You

 

I spun around, dropping my phone on the kitchen table. There he was. Black and teal Jordans, backwards dark wash jeans. T-shirt covered by way too many layers for the summer, and twists covered by a Yankees snapback. His skin was flawless except for the small wrinkles around his wide smile.

“Larry…” I said quietly, still not sure if I was dreaming or not. But when he opened his arms for me, I didn’t hesitate to run to him, letting him pull me to him.

“You never call me back,” he said. His voice didn’t sound angry. It was like he was just stating a fact. I hugged him tighter.

“I couldn’t… I couldn’t do it. I missed you so much,” I said.

“I miss you too,” he said.

“I’m sorry,” I said, my voice catching. Larry pulled me away from him to look me in the eyes.

“Don’t be sorry,” he said, wiping a tear from my face. Vous êtes si belle. I hope these are happy tears.” I just smiled up at him. But then I realized something. He was supposed to be in Paris…

“But why are you here?” I asked, confused, yet happier than I had ever been. Part of me didn’t care why he was there. I was just glad that he was. “You quit the tour. You’re supposed to be back in Paris, getting ready for workshops.”

“We do workshops here. In U.S. We going to travel along with Melina’s tour and do workshops in those cities,” he said. I couldn’t believe it.

“You’re serious?” I asked, he just grinned at me. I shook my head.

“I don’t believe it. Why would you do that?” I asked, in awe. Larry just kissed me lightly on the mouth.

“Je t’aime, Bee. I love you. You… you’re it for me,” he said. Hearing him say those words was all I ever needed. I reached up, touching his cheek.

“I love you too,” I said. He smiled wider than I had ever seen, catching my hand on his cheek, and leaning down to kiss me again.

“Oki, oki. I am here too,” said Laurent, coming around the corner, revealing himself. He looked annoyed with us, but smiled when he saw me. I just laughed and went to hug him.

*      *      *

After saying goodbye to my mom, and being assured by Tyler that he would look after her, Larry, Laurent and I flew out to Las Vegas. Dahlia knew that we were coming, but she had sounded emotionless about it on the phone when I mentioned Laurent. But when we walked into the hotel lobby and she saw him, the tears immediately started to stream. The two just stood there, apart from each other. Finally she made her way to him and he pulled her into a hug.

“I’m sorry,” she said, crying into his chest. He just ran his hands through her black hair, whispering to her soothingly. I pulled my eyes away, not wanting to intrude on their intimacy. I made eye contact with Josh from across the room. He smiled at me, and I smiled back. It wasn’t worth hating him. Larry squeezed my hand, and I looked up at him. He smiled at me. When he smiled, there was no keeping me from mirroring it. Because in that moment, I was the happiest I had ever been. With my hand in his, I felt like I could do anything.

THE END.

….for now.

 

***All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford.

 

6 thoughts on “Once In A Lifetime: The Final Chapter

  1. Awwww! Happily ever after! Great story…Now,don’t leave me hanging…Please when does Deception start!!! Tomorrow same time same place!!!! ROTFLMAO!!!! I just want you to know how much I appreciate you…<3

  2. This story was amazing. I was on the verge of tears so many times and I loved the ending. I hope you make a sequel soon ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

