Deception: Chapter 1

It’s always hard moving somewhere new, but to move to a whole new country because you’re being forced to against your own will and you don’t even know the person you’ll be living with … that’s extremely hard. My name is Cheyenne Baxter. My dad just recently remarried to some lady over in Paris. He’s in the military and that’s just where he’s stationed and she works somewhere near the base. For a while, when he’d call and check on me, she was all he could talk about. I didn’t care then, I was actually really happy he found someone.

You’re probably thinking, “Well why not just stay with your mom or someone so you won’t have to move?” You see, I would, but her basic ass is a baser and my grandmother said it’s getting to be too much to try and help my mom on top of taking care of my little sister and younger brother. My dad seems to think moving us across the world is better for us, rather than him just coming back stateside and bringing his wife with him. Quite frankly, I don’t want to move in with some female I don’t know a thing about in another county. I don’t know French; I don’t have French friends; I have no idea what to expect. Plus, my dad and I don’t have the closest relationship that we should as father and daughter.

“Sissy,” my little sister tugged at my loose fitting jeans, “I’m scared.” Her small voice shook while she stared me down. I felt my heart bust and sink to my toes. I hated seeing her like this.

“Awe Chelsey,” I knelt down in front of her making sure I was eye level with her, “Baby Girl you’ll be fine. Sissy promises.” I held my hand out for her to grab and stood back up.

“Oh My God. Chels, stop being such a little wussy!” said my younger brother Christopher. I was 18, my sister was 6, and Chris was 15. I cut him a motherly glare that he only ignored.

“I don’t care about that stupid look you’re giving me Chey. You don’t scare me.” He rolled his eyes and slid the brightly colored orange Beats by Dre headphones back over his ears.

Quickly I slapped him on the back of his head, his headphones flying back off as a chain reaction. He stopped in his tracks and faced me, attitude completely present in his face and body language. “Shut up dork, because if I recall correctly, you used to be scared to catch planes and you were only going across the country. Besides, Chels is only 6 and this is her first time. Stop being a dick and be supportive twat.”

“Yeah, well I don’t think we should have to be moving anyway.” Again he rolled his light brown orbs and pressed send on his iPhone.

“You know, this is probably the first time since the day you’ve been born that I truthfully and honestly agree with you.” I shook my head still baffled that I was agreeing with him and actually letting him know that.

“That’s what I don’t get. Why are you even coming? You’re 18, you can move into your own place with Nicki and just be done with dad.” He pointed out, referring to my best friend that had dropped us off at the airport. I hated to leave her but she was going back to New York for her 3rd year in college and I was taking a break for a semester before I went back so she understood that we were going to get separated at some point.

I rolled my eyes. Christopher was right though. But honestly, I don’t think I could deal without my siblings. Chris was forever working my last nerves and Chelsey was a tattletale. Chris and I could never get away with anything with her around, but I loved them and if I didn’t have them with me everyday I’d more than likely lose my god given mind. They completed me.

“Don’t tell anyone I told you this and NEVER EVER for the rest of your LIFE ever utter these words again, but I’d miss you guys too much. You guys are the reasons I wake up in the morning.” I closed my eyes because I didn’t want to see the sly grin I knew my brother was wearing.

“You love me!” He shouted in the middle of the airport, a smile creeping up slowly on his face while Chelsey stood next to him jumping up and down.

“Oh my God, shut up you pig!” I laughed out loud whipping my hair up in a ponytail before we walked through airport security.

The flight was long and draining. I called the window seat as we were walking through the terminal. Chris of course got mad but I was the eldest so I called the shots this time around. Chelsey sat in the seat next to me while I hummed softly. The flight was 6 plus hours and our dad booked a flight that would land us in Paris between 11am and 12 in the afternoon. That meant we had to be at the airport in California Sunday night at 10pm to be on our 11 o’clock flight. Chris was slouching in his seat snoring quietly while Chelsey leaned in my lap with a pillow. I smiled down at her. She had a smooth olive colored complexion, a cute little nose that sloped up at the tip, and a head full of sandy red hair that coiled like tight little springs. My sister was beautiful and I couldn’t help but imagine how she’d look when she got older. They say she’s the spitting image of me when I was younger minus slight differences in eye and hair color.

Watching her sleep peacefully brought back memories of watching my mom do the same at our old house. Before my mom started her addiction, I’d get up to go to the bathroom and spot my mom standing over my sister’s bed smiling down on her, just admiring her. I always thought it was kind of weird but now I can understand why she did it. I sighed and brushed roughly at the side of my face as I stared out in to the night sky, the clouds a dark purplish color since the sun wasn’t out to make them look like the white cotton balls most people know best. I closed my eyes and slowly drifted off to sleep. Only dreading that when I woke up, I’d have to start a completely new life.

***All “Decption” stories are written by Les Twins fan Alexis Daniels

4 thoughts on “Deception: Chapter 1

  1. Hey there, I’m just staring the story but I can’t get anything besides chapter one. Which (btw) was a lovely heart-warming introduction of the main character. Could someone please help!! Thanks as usual… (really want to see where this author takes you)

    ~LOVE~

    • At the bottom of each chapter there are two boxes one pointing left and the other pointing right…because the site is shutting down u will have to continue to click the right box until u come to the next chapter…sorry there use to be a chapter page but I can’t find it any longer. Hope this helped!

Leave a Reply

