Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 25

“These times are so hard. And it’s getting even harder.”

   – Eminem, Lose Yourself

I sat waiting at the airport to catch my flight home to Indianapolis. Dahlia had insisted on going with me, even though it was going to cause lots of problems with the choreography at the concert with just me gone, let alone another dancer. However, they had insisted that I should go home.

My mom had apparently been outside in her garden when she collapsed. Luckily, Tyler had come by to help her mow the grass, otherwise she may not have been found. He called 911 and she was rushed to the hospital. I still had no idea what was wrong, and I was sick to my stomach just thinking about the possibilities. I just sat in the airport, my fists clenched and my eyes stinging from tears. Dahlia kept her arm around me. Normally, I wouldn’t have wanted to be touched, but it was reassuring that she was there.

We finally boarded the plane, and Dahlia told me that I really needed to sleep. The flight was only an hour and a half, and I knew there was no way I was going to fall asleep. But to humor her, I put in my headphones and closed my eyes, pretending. After what felt like forever, we landed. Tyler was already at the airport, waiting to take us to the hospital. He said that the doctors had to wait until I got there to give him any information, because he wasn’t family.

I rushed into the hospital, my legs shaking. I tried to process what the doctor was telling me. Apparently she had just gotten dehydrated, but it was severe, and they wanted to keep her for a while, to make sure everything was going to work out. I just nodded, relieved that it wasn’t anything more serious than that. Tyler, Dahlia and I went to sit in the waiting room for a while, because my mom was resting. I sat down slowly, putting my head in my hands, feeling physically and emotionally exhausted.

“I’m sorry you had to fly out here, Bee. But I didn’t know what to do. I wasn’t sure what was wrong,” Tyler said. I just shook my head.

“No, I’m glad you got me here. It could have been worse. I’m just glad it’s not,” I said into my hands. I could practically feel Tyler and Dahlia giving each other a worried look. The three of us sat there quietly for a while, until my phone broke the silence. I pulled it out to see that Larry was calling. I swallowed hard. I just handed it to Dahlia. She nodded, understanding and walked away to take the call from him, and tell him what was going on. I couldn’t talk to Larry. The emotional distress of everything that had happened concerning my mom, on top of Larry not being there with me was too much. I knew if I heard his voice I would break down. I couldn’t deal with it. Not then. After about fifteen minutes or so, Dahlia came back and handed my phone back to me. I shoved it into my pocket, and looked at her, waiting for her to tell me what he said. She sighed.

“He sounded worried. He said he’s glad she’s okay, but he wants you to call him. He said that he wants you to know that even though he’s far away, he’s still there for you. He still…. he still loves you.” she said, awkwardly. I sat up straight, my eyes widening.

“He said…. he said what?” I asked. She couldn’t have heard him correctly. Larry had never told me he was in love with me. We hadn’t even been dating that long. There’s no way he would have Dahlia pass that message on to me.

“Damn…” Tyler said quietly. Dahlia just shrugged, still looking a little bit awkward. I just sat back. It had to have been a mistake. There was no way he had really said that…

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford

One thought on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 25

Leave a Reply

