Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 24

“And the black keys never looked so beautiful, and a perfect rainbow never seemed so dull.”

   – Jonas Brothers,Black Keys

Laurent had decided that the tour wasn’t satisfying them as dancers, and he knew that they had the potential to do more around the world, than just staying in the United States for the rest of the summer. As much as Larry said he wanted to stay on the tour, he knew his brother was right.

Larry and I only had a few days left together, and as sad as I was, we were trying to make the most of it. However, the fact that he was being so sweet was almost making matters worse. I could honestly say that I had never felt the way I felt when I was around him. Sometimes life just isn’t fair.

Dahlia and Lau had taken a turn for the worse, however. Dahlia had gotten upset with him about talking to Tasha before talking to her, which according to him wasn’t exactly the case. She had apparently overheard him talking to someone else. But Dahlia refused to accept this. Part of me believed that the only reason she didn’t forgive him, was because it would be easier to be angry with him when he was gone, than to miss him.

*      *      *

When the day came for Larry and Lau to leave for Paris, I sat in my hotel room. Larry had told me he would come up to say goodbye before he left, but part of me was hoping he wouldn’t. I knew saying goodbye was going to be hard, and I sort of just wanted to avoid it. But when he knocked on the door, my heart jumped into my throat, and I knew that I wouldn’t have been able to go without seeing him before he left.

I answered the door, the tears already starting to well up. He looked like a wreck. I wasn’t sure if it was because he had been up all night packing, or for the same reasons I looked like a wreck. He just looked at me for a minute before taking me into his arms, and squeezing me close. Normally I would have laughed and told him he was suffocating me. But not now. I wanted him as close as possible.

After several moments of neither one of us saying anything, I pulled away and spoke up.

“You’ll call me when you land?” I asked, trying to keep my voice from shaking. Larry just nodded. He put his hand up to my cheek, catching a tear as it began to fall from my eye.

“Nobody ever make me feel this way,” he said. I wanted to say something, but the tears that were falling made it near impossible. As if he wanted to relieve me of having to respond, he kissed me. It didn’t feel like a goodbye kiss. It felt like it was a “this is the beginning of something amazing” kiss. And I held onto that as he hugged me one last time, and made his way back down the hallway.

I went back into my room to cry my eyes out before I had to leave for the concert that night. Dahlia and Josh had gone out somewhere. I was pretty sure it was so Dahlia didn’t have to be there when the twins left, though she would never admit it. I curled myself into a ball and cried. I felt my phone buzz in my pocket. It was Tyler. I didn’t really feel like talking, but if I was going to talk to anyone about this, it would be him. I answered, trying not to sound like I had been sobbing.

“Hey,” I said sadly, knowing he would pick up on my sadness.

“Bee,” he said. His voice was serious, and somewhat scared. I sat up straight.

“Ty… what’s wrong?” I asked, confused. He was silent for a few seconds, and it was enough to drive me absolutely insane. Finally I heard him take a deep breath and say, “Bee, it’s your mom.”

 

***All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford.

One thought on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 24

Leave a Reply

