Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 20

“Juste toi et moi. Rien ne nous sépare.”

   – Les Déesses, Danse avec moi.

I just stood in the middle of the lobby in shock, holding my hand up to my stinging cheek. I felt tears well up in my eyes from the pain and surprise.

“What the—?!” Dahlia exclaimed, dropping her bags and stepping in front of me. If I was watching from someone else’s perspective, I might have laughed at the sight of little Dahlia stepping in front to defend me.

“Who do you think you ARE?” the girl said, looking like she would have no problem with smacking me again, possibly even harder the second time.

“What is this?” Larry asked. In the heat of the moment, I hadn’t even noticed him rush to my side. He turned me towards him and pulled my hand off of my cheek, inspecting it. “Tasha, what you thinking?” he asked the girl, who was still fuming. She threw her hands in the air.

“This stupid bitch thinks she can just come in and have all the guys she wants. Well guess what, bitch? He’smine. So maybe you should just back off!” she exclaimed. I looked at Larry, confused. The only time I had ever seen him with this girl, Tasha, was at the club that one night in L.A. But when I looked into his eyes, he looked just as genuinely confused as I did. Neither one of us said anything, so Dahlia spoke up.

“What the hell are you talking about?” she said, looking like she would smack Tasha back for me, if she had to. “Larry has always liked Bee!”

Tasha made a face at Larry, and looked at Dahlia as if she was the stupidest thing she had ever seen.

“I’m not talking aboutLarry,” she said, her eyes narrowing at me again. Finally, I found words, my shock starting to wear off.

“Then who ARE you talking about?” I asked. Tasha rolled her eyes.

“Josh!” she exclaimed. My mouth dropped open.

“Josh and I arejust friends.” I said. Larry raised his eyebrows. “Just friends,” I said again for his benefit.

“No. You’re nothing,” she said, before putting her hand on her hip and sashaying back over to her group of friends a little ways down the hall, out of the lobby. I just stood there, my face still stinging and my mouth agape. Larry kneeled down in front of me and looked at my face again.

“You’re okay?” he asked. I just nodded, scanning the room. Finally I saw Josh appear across the lobby. I looked to make sure Tasha wasn’t watching and I rushed over to him, grabbing his arm and pulling him to the corner of the room, fuming.

“What the hell did you tell that girl, Tasha, Josh?” I asked. Josh looked surprise at my sudden anger towards him.

“Wh-what?” he stuttered. I let go of his arm, because I was afraid I might rip it off.

“What did you SAY to her?” I said through gritted teeth. “She just walked up to me and slapped the shit out of me in front of everyone.”

Josh looked shocked. “She what?” he asked. He was putting off answering my question and that just pissed me off even more.

“What did you tell her about me?” I asked slowly, my tone warning. Josh swallowed and rubbed the back of his neck.

“I just told her that you and I sort of hooked up… and that I really liked you…” he said softly.

“Why would you do that? Why would you lie like that?” I asked, even more pissed off, if that was possible. Josh just shrugged.

“Well, because the second part is true. And you were all gaga over Larry and I wanted company. I thought it would make her jealous, and want me or something,” he said, sounding childish. I laughed humorlessly.

“Well it worked, dumbass. So next time you want to make up shit, leave me out of it. Which should be easy for you, since we aren’t friends anymore,” I said, storming away from him, back in the direction of Larry, Dahlia, and now Lau. Josh followed after me.

“Bee! Wait! Come on!” he said. I spun around to face him. Just as I was about to yell back at him, I felt Larry’s strong arms around me.

“You should go,” he said to Josh. The tone of his voice scared me, and I knew it scared Josh too, because he stopped dead in his tracks, and then walked away without saying another word.

*      *      *

I sat on the plane staring out the window later that day. I sighed deeply. I was still thrilled about having the opportunity to go on tour with a pop superstar, but I was beginning to get sick of the drama. I felt Larry take my hand, and I looked over at him and smiled.

“You okay?” he asked. I smiled sadly.

“We’re always going to have other people causing drama around us, aren’t we?” I asked. I knew what the honest answer was, but part of me was hoping that he would say no anyway. His big brown eyes looked into mine.

“They no matter. Juste toi et moi.” he said, kissing me on the forehead. I rested my head on his shoulder, and allowed myself to relax.

 

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford

3 thoughts on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 20

  1. Getting really good at translating simple phases in french…it just comes out of no where! LMAO!!! Feeling great might have to read again just to make sure 😉

  2. you know if that was me being slapped I would have gone Jesus Christ on her I’m serious I would have beat the brains out of her head ben je gek of zo

Leave a Reply

