Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 17

“Truth be told I miss you. And truth be told I’m lying.”

– The All-American Rejects,Gives You Hell

“Sam, why are you here?” I asked, half annoyed and half perplexed at the sight of him. I had pulled him over to a corner of the room so that we could talk in private. But I could see my friends and family glancing over at us, trying to pretend like they weren’t. Larry, however, was not even trying to cover himself up. He was looking right at us, as if he was ready to jump in at any moment.

“Bee, don’t act like you don’t know why I’m here,” he said, rolling his eyes at me. I just shook my head.

“Well you shouldn’t have come.”

“I miss you. And you never return my calls or texts. What was I supposed to do? How are you supposed to hear me out if you won’t talk to me?” he asked, looking a little distressed. I sighed.

“Sam, I don’t want to hear you out. It’s done. It’s been done. In fact, it never was anything to begin with!” I said, exasperated. Sam looked hurt.

“You didn’t give me the chance to make it anything,” he said, looking down. I threw my hands up.

“Are you serious right now? I gave you plenty of chances. That whole summer we spent together was a chance. You never once came to visit me at school this year. And then you had a chance before I left and we ended up arguing instead. So don’t tell me I haven’t’ given you any chances. This isn’t my fault,” I said angrily. I couldn’t believe he was trying to make it look like I was the evil witch and he was the poor boy who had fallen for me.

“Bee, look, I’m sorry about all that okay? But I miss you. A lot, and I want to be with you…” he said. I looked up into his blue eyes. I couldn’t help but feel some of what I had always felt for him. I swallowed.

“Sam, I’m traveling around the country right now,” I said, quietly. He smiled, knowing that I was beginning to soften.

“That’s okay. We can talk every night. I’ll wait for you to get back,” he said, taking me into his arms. I hugged him back. He felt nice. And familiar. But then I caught a glimpse of Larry, staring and looking so hurt that I felt a pain in my stomach. I pulled away.

“Sam. I can’t. I’m sorry,” I said, shaking my head and feeling the tears welling up in my eyes. It wasn’t fair. I still liked Sam. And he took a risk to try to tell me that he wants to be with me. He wanted to wait for me. But I couldn’t deny the feelings I still had for Larry, whether I was going to be with him or not. It wouldn’t be fair to Sam, or to Larry if I dated him without sorting out my feelings for Larry. Sam frowned, suddenly looking angry.

“Why do you keep messing with my head?” he asked, his voice rising in anger. I shook my head.

“Sam, I’m not…” I said, looking at Larry again, he was in a ready position, seeing that Sam was getting upset.

“What are you looking at?” Sam asked, spinning around to see Larry across the room, watching us intently. Sam spun back around.

“Oh, now I get it,” he laughed humorlessly. “There’s someone else. What, Bee? You couldn’t go a few weeks without getting some other guy off? So you can just cut him off too. You’re such a fucking tease.”

The tears bit the back of my eyes, and I let them fall.

“I’m not…” I said, immaturely. I had no idea what else to say. Tears blurred my vision and I could hear Sam continue to yell, but I had no idea what he was saying. Suddenly Larry was behind him.

“Bee…” he said gently. I looked up at him, unsure of what to do. I was embarrassed and hurt. Sam finally threw his hands up and stormed out. My mom, Dahlia and Tyler all rushed to my side, pushing Larry out. I kept my eyes on him, though. He looked unsure of what to do. He must have finally decided that I was in good hands, and he turned and walked back toward his brother.

*      *      *

After I calmed down, my mom took me, Josh, Dahlia and Tyler out for a late snack, and then took us back to the hotel. I parted ways with her and Tyler, which was hard to do a second time. I promised to call as soon as we arrived at our next destination. Josh went off toward his room, and Dahlia and I made our way to ours. As we were coming up to our door, I noticed a tall lean figure leaning against our door. Larry turned, his dark chocolate eyes burning into me. I didn’t break eye contact as we walked up to him. Dahlia looked between the two of us and hurried into our room.

“You okay?” he asked, breaking eye contact to look down at his Nikes. I nodded.

“I’m fine,” I said, but my voice had begun to break, reliving what had happened. Larry clenched his jaw.

“You no deserve that,” he said. I just stood there, unsure of what to say. Larry looked back at me and I found myself lost in his eyes again. “He no deserve you,” he said, matter-of-factly. I tried to swallow the lump in my throat.

“And you do?” I asked, raising my eyebrows. Just because Larry was having the same affect on me that he always did, didn’t mean I was going to just forget everything that had happened. Larry looked at me for what felt like a long time before answering.

“No,” he said. I didn’t pull away as he brought his face down to mine. He kissed me so softly that I hardly felt it physically. But Ifelt the tingle all the way to my toes. He cupped my face in his hands, continuing to plant soft kisses on my lips. When he pulled away, his look was so intense that it almost forced me to look away.

“Let’s go,” I said. Larry nodded, taking my hand and leading me to his room. I sat down on his bed as he locked the door. My phone buzzed in my pocket.

Lau is here 😉 take your time!

-D

I sighed, taking the hint. She didn’t want me to take my time for my sake, but for hers. Larry came to sit next to me, taking my in his arms.

“You so beautiful,” he whispered in my ear, sending chills down my spine. I turned to face him.

“Why can’t I stay away from you? Even when you hurt me?” I asked, voicing what I had been thinking for weeks. Larry looked at me sadly, stroking my cheek.

“I no want to hurt you,” he said. I swallowed.

“You did. I thought you liked me and then I saw you with that girl…” I trailed off, suddenly feeling stupid for bringing it up.

“You know what?” he said, I looked up at him.

“What?”

“It mean nothing,” he said. “Because she not you.”

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford.

Leave a Reply

