Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 15

“You know this thing ain’t been no walk in the park for us.”

– Chris Brown, Say Goodbye

I didn’t speak to Larry for a few weeks. We were making our way around the U.S. and we had finally landed in Florida. Everyone was excited, because we were staying for a few days longer to enjoy the beach.

I had told Dahlia what Larry had told me about Laurent, which she was absolutely thrilled about. She constantly asked me what happened between Larry and me, but I always blew it off by saying “We just want different things.” Which was true, but there had obviously been more to it than that.

Larry hadn’t tried to talk to me since I had gone off on him, but I would occasionally catch him staring at me. I couldn’t figure out if he was doing it because he actually missed me, or because he wanted me to think that he did. But I told myself that it didn’t matter either way, because Larry wasn’t the type of guy to just settle for one girl. And I was NOT going to just be one of many.

The day after the show in Miami, we all went out to the beach by our hotel. The sun was beating down, and the water was cool, but warm enough to swim in. Dahlia and I were laying on our towels, occasionally getting sand flicked on us by all the guys, who were playing ultimate Frisbee.

“So are you EVER going to tell me what happened with you and Larry?” she asked. I sighed. I was starting to get annoyed with how persistent she was. I REALLY didn’t want to talk about it.

“Because he’s an ass!” Josh said, sitting down next to us and wrapping his arms around his knees.

“You talk about me?”

My eyes widened, and I felt a sudden pang of fear shoot through my body down to my toes. Larry walked over to where we were all sitting, his jaw clenched.

“Can we just drop it please?” I asked, putting my sunglasses on. Larry stood there, shooting daggers at Josh with his eyes. Josh stood up.

“Of course I’m talking about you,” he said, angrily. Dahlia stared at me as if to say “DO SOMETHING!” I shot a look back at her that was meant to say “UM HOW?!”

“You no know me, man,” Larry said. “Just shut up.” Josh laughed humorlessly.

“Well I know that you use people to get what you want. And then because you think you’re a fucking hotshot, you can just do whatever the hell you want,” he said. Larry made a face.

“You crazy?” he said. Josh stepped around us to get to Larry, and I shot up off of my towel.

“Stop,” I said, looking at Josh. He was obviously pissed.

“I’ll stop when he gets the fuck out of here,” he said, causing Larry to advance. I spun around, putting my hands on his bare chest. I couldn’t help but remember the last time I had done that. The moment had been sensual, but this time it was completely different.

“Larry,” I said firmly. He stopped, but kept his eyes on Josh. Then he looked down at me. His eyes were so brown, and so full of an emotion that I couldn’t decipher. His jaw was still clenched. Laurent finally noticed what was going on and came over to drag Larry away. When they both walked away, I turned and rubbed my temples, sitting back down on the towel.

“Are you okay?” Dahlia asked, rubbing my back.

“Don’t let him get to you, Bee,” Josh said, sitting back down. I looked at him, completely flabbergasted.

“Are you kidding me, Josh? You started that whole thing. I don’t need anymore drama with Larry or anyone else for that matter. I just don’t want to talk to you right now,” I said. Josh’s eyes held a mixture of hurt and anger, but he got up without a word and made his way back up to the hotel.

“Damn, girl. You must be some hot commodity or something!” Dahlia said, trying to lighten the mood. I deep sighed.

“Or something. I’m getting pretty sick of it,” I said. Dahlia lowered her sunglasses so that I could see her eyes.

“You gotta admit, though. You KNOW you were turned on by how feisty Larry got…” she said, wiggling her eyebrows. I pushed her shoulder and laughed. But that was just so I didn’t have to give her the satisfaction of admitting it.

*      *      *

Later that evening when everyone was getting ready to get dinner, Dahlia and I made our way downstairs to the lobby of the hotel. Josh came up to us, but I wasn’t ready to deal with him yet, so I walked away and let Dahlia talk to him. I stood by myself, leaning against the wall and pretended to be on my phone.

“You need to let me talk.” I jumped. Larry had snuck up on me. I suddenly cursed myself for messing with my phone. If I had seen him coming, I could’ve ran away. I sighed.

“Larry, I’m over it. I don’t need to hear you talk about it. It’s fine. You just aren’t the right guy for me,” I said, but I suddenly wanted to take it back. Larry actually looked hurt by that.

“You listen to Josh,” he said. I shook my head, annoyed that he brought Josh up.

“No, Larry. I don’t listen to Josh. He’s just bitter. I feel the way I do because of me and because of you. Not anybody else.”

Larry furrowed his eyebrows, and then looked up at me, his dark eyes cutting me to the core.

“I am,” he said. I frowned.

“You are what?” I asked, confused.

“Right guy for you,” he said, and turned and walked away.

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford

2 thoughts on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 15

Leave a Reply

