Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 9

“My mind forgets to remind me you’re a bad idea.”

– Taylor Swift, Sparks Fly

Larry and I decided to just walk a way down to a small beach nearby. I could feel the sun beating down on my bare shoulders. I pulled my sunglasses out of my small over-the-shoulder purse and put them on.

“So where you say you from?” Larry asked.

“Indiana,” I said. “It’s in the mid-west.” Larry nodded.

“What is it like?” he asked. I took a second to consider this.

“Well, a lot of people think it’s all corn field. But Indianapolis is really just like any other big city. But I live in the suburbs. I just went to your typical high school. It’s nothing special,” I answered. Larry was quiet for a minute, and then, “You have boyfriend there?”

The question took me aback. The last time he had asked me this, it was like he had been just messing with me. But this time I got the impression that he really wanted to know.

“No. I mean, there was someone last summer. But he was never really my boyfriend. I think he’s given up by now,” I said, considering Sam had finally stopped texting me. Larry looked at me.

“Then he dumb,” he said. I smiled. He grinned back at me, and took my hand. He laced his fingers through mine. His hand engulfed my hand, but it was nice. For the first time I felt close to him in a non-sexual way.

We walked that way for a while in silence, until we passed a store with several TVs in the window. They were playing some goofy dancing cartoon. Larry caught sight of it, and started imitating it, dropping my hand and waving his long limbs around, making faces. I laughed.

“Larry! Stop!” I said, unable to control my laughter. People were walking by and staring. Some laughed, and others gave strange looks.

“Larry!” He wasn’t listening, and he began spinning. I finally tried to push him playfully, but he stopped, catching my hands on his chest. I could feel his heart beating fast, and he looked down at me. The brim of his snapback was touching my forehead. I reached up, taking it off, and placing it back on his head, backwards. I licked my lips and allowed his mouth to meet mine. He let go of my hands and allowed them to snake around his neck as he kissed me deeper. After only a few seconds, he pulled away.

“Hotel?” he asked, on the verge of breathless. I nodded. He grabbed my hand and we practically ran back down the street.

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by Les Twins fan Cara Ford.

2 thoughts on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 9

Leave a Reply

