Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 8

“I can’t help it if you look like an angel.”

   – Taylor Swift, Hey Stephen

A few weeks later, we were putting the final touches on our dances for Melina’s show. Realization started to set in that it was almost time for the tour, and everyone was excited. I spent most of my free time hanging out with Josh and Dahlia (when she wasn’t with Lau), and the rest of the time flirting with Larry.

He hadn’t tried to kiss me again since that night outside of the restaurant, but that didn’t stop him from flirting. He would occasionally come up behind me and wrap his arms around my waist and whispers things in French in my ear. I had no idea what he was saying, but it was so damn sexy that I didn’t even care. And he knew it.

I couldn’t help but notice, however, the amount of female attention that Larry and Lau both received. I knew that it bothered Dahlia too, even though it was obvious that Laurent was completely infatuated with her.

One afternoon that we didn’t have rehearsal, I looked outside my hotel window to see that it was beautiful outside. I was sick of being cooped up in the studio and the hotel during the day, so I went to find Dahlia. She was downstairs in the lobby, playing some sort of card game with Laurent.

“Let’s go get ice cream!” I suggested, approaching their table.

“Okay!” Dahlia said. “You want to come?” she asked Lau, who shrugged.

“Oki. I get Larry,” he said, standing up. My stomach instantly filled with butterflies, just like it did every time someone mentioned Larry.

“Oh…that’s okay. You don’t have to…” I said, feeling awkward. Laurent just stared at me.

“I go get Larry,” he repeated, and walked off down the hallway. Dahlia grinned at me.

“Ooo! A double date!” she squealed. I rolled my eyes, not even bothering to argue with her.

Lau came back a few minutes later, his brother in tow. Larry looked amazing as always. Decked out in backwards jeans, a t-shirt and a button up fitting loosely over top. He seemed to always dress like that, no matter how hot it was in Southern California. His hair was in twists, and his snapback matched his Nikes perfectly. He smiled, making my heart melt. I had no choice but to smile back.

The four of us had ice cream at a little shop down the street. When we all finished, Dahlia whispered something to Lau, and then claimed she needed to get some things from the shops further down the street.

“I don’t want to bore you guys with shopping. You three should go do something!” she said, glancing at Laurent.

“I go with you,” he said to her, standing up and wrapping his long arm over her shoulders.

“Well I guess it’s just the two of you left to hang, then! Later!” she said before hurrying out with Laurent. She was anything but subtle about her intentions. But I couldn’t just bail on Larry. And if I was being honest with myself, I didn’t WANT to. Larry rested his head in his hands, his elbows on the table.

“What we do?” he asked. What I WANTED to do was kiss him right on the mouth. I sat back in my chair. It was going to be a long day…

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories are written by fan Cara Ford

Leave a Reply

