Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 4

“Caught up in the moment, but not in the right way.”

– All Time Low,Poppin’ Champagne

I stood in the middle of the dance floor for a few seconds in bewilderment until the “I need to get out of here” instinct kicked in and I made my way off the dance floor. I tried to make it look like I was fine, but I couldn’t sort out all of the emotions inside.

It wasn’t the heat in the lower half of my body that had me confused. I was extremely aware of where that had come from. I was confused as to why Larry had just left me in the middle of the dance floor. He had acted so into me. And then the song ends, and poof. Bye, bye Bourgeois.

As I made my way to the restroom to collect myself, the anger set in. I mean, was he really going to play me like that?! He practically made love to me on the dance floor and then he justwalks away?! Who does that?

I suddenly felt light-headed. I gripped the sink and shook my head just as the restroom door swung open and Dahlia rushed in.

“HOLY SHIT!” she exclaimed, and when she caught sight of me bent over the sink, she added, “Oh my gosh, are you okay? Where did Larry go? I saw you two out there! Good lord! The way he was LOOKING at you! I thought he was about to—”

I put my hand up to stop her. My head was pounding and I didn’t want to discuss what had happened with Larry. I dry swallowed some aspirin from her clutch, and she stayed with me until the pain subsided. Then the two of us made our way back to the booth that the group had been sitting at before the dance floor fiasco.

Almost the entire group had made their way out to dance, and as if he was TRYING to make me a nervous wreck, Larry was not one of them. He sat in the booth drinking what looked like water out of a small glass, and talking to a guy in a red hat, who if I remembered right, was named Jimmy.

Dahlia slid into the booth and I followed suit, intentionally not looking directly at Larry. He was talking to Jimmy, but turned away from him when I sat down, and nudged me under the table with his foot. I scooted out of his reach and allowed myself to look at him. He looked confused by my rejection, but he eventually gave up and made his way back out to the big group on the dance floor.

*      *      *

It wasn’t until two days later that Larry made the effort to speak to me again. Don’t get me wrong, I still always got the sexy looks and the adorable smiles, but no actual speaking.

He came up behind me at breakfast one morning, snatching the apple out of my hands just as I was about to put it on my plate. I spun around.

“Larry…” I said in recognition. He grinned and took a bite of the apple. I tried to scowl, but ended up smiling instead. Curse him for being so damn cute.

“You go out with us again?” he asked. I turned away from him and continued making my way down the buffet of breakfast items.

“No,” I said, my mind already made up. No matter HOW cute Larry was, he had humiliated me, and I wasn’t going to let it happen again.

“Why no?” he asked, stepping between me and the buffet, his face pouty. I swallowed.

“You left,” I said, immediately regretting it. Now he was going to think I’d been obsessing. And even though I had, I didn’t want him to know that. When Larry processed what I said, he grinned mischievously, and that was my queue. I set my plate down on the buffet table and made my way through the lobby and to the elevator. If Larry was going to make fun of me, I wasn’t going to be around to see him do it. I needed a few minutes alone in my room to chill out before rehearsal.

I slid my room key in the door and swung it open to find a shirtless Laurent wrapped around Dahlia. I slammed the door, and quickly made my way back down the hallway, trying to wipe the image from my mind.

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories written by Cara Ford

Leave a Reply

