Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 3

“I felt a rush like a bolt of thunder. Spinnin’ my head around and taking me under. Oh, what a night.”

   – Frankie Valli,Oh, What a Night.

My stomach was still in knots when we made it to the club. They must have taken it into consideration that we weren’t all 21, because they didn’t check IDs at the door. And by the looks of the people inside, it was an all-ages club. I followed closely behind Dahlia. She just had this way of making it look like she knew what she was doing. We followed the group to a big booth in the back. A few of the other girls didn’t even bother to sit down before heading to the dance floor. A few of the guys followed, and the rest of the group scooted into the booth, Larry and Laurent among them. Dahlia scooted in next to Laurent, and I followed in next to her, making me on the end, and Larry on the other end directly across from me.

Dahlia and Laurent engaged in conversation instantly. Not knowing what to do with myself, I pulled out my cell. I had two more messages from Sam. One said: “Bee, I’m really sorry.” and the other “Please. I miss you.” I rolled my eyes and put my phone back in my pocket. So much for using that as a distraction. I looked up to find Larry looking directly at me. He smiled.

“Boyfriend?” he asked, nodding in the direction of my pocket. I scoffed.

“Hardly,” I responded. His grin widened and I felt my face heat up.

“Dance?” he asked, gesturing toward the dance floor. It was so loud in the club, and I really hoped that I had heard him wrong.

“No — I—” I tried to protest, but he had already slid out of my booth, and grabbed my hand. His hand engulfed mine, and it was so warm that I couldn’t bring myself to say anything further. I let him drag me to the center of the dance floor, making brief eye contact with Dahlia, who wiggled her eyebrows at me. I swallowed hard. I was a good dancer. I knew that. But I couldn’t remember the last time I had really danced with someone, other than an official dance partner. The music was fast and upbeat, and I saw that Larry was just goofing around, I loosened up. I matched his moves and created some of my own. We were laughing, and I gradually found myself becoming more and more comfortable. Larry and I had about a foot and a half between us, and there were several other couples surrounding us two. It felt like we were all just dancing in one big group. I realized that Laurent and Dahlia had joined in on the dance floor, as well, so I was partially dancing with them too.

I was having so much fun, and all the excitement I had previously had on the plane came rushing back and covered the nervousness of the first day. I was in the midst of losing myself in the music, when the song faded into a different one. It had an R&B feel. A slower beat. Before I could even process the change, Larry wrapped his arm around my waist and pulled me to him. Our bodies were touching. I could feel the warmth of his body. I barely came up to his chin, and when I looked up at him, his eyes fixed on mine. His smile was gone, but I could still make out the cocky glint in his eye. My stomach was in knots, and my heart was beating so fast I thought it was going to explode. Larry moved his hips against mine and I stiffened, determined to pull away.

“I—” But before I could utter more than one syllable, Larry lifted a finger and pressed it against my lips. His eyes were so focused on me and the small gesture was so seductive that my body turned to jelly. He took advantage of this and began to move his body against mine, and before I knew it, our bodes were moving in rhythm with each other. It was hot in the center of the dance floor, and we were both sweating. It was all so erotic, that I was embarrassed that other people could see us in this moment. But it felt too good to stop. He was like a drug. I knew I shouldn’t be doing it. I barely knew him and I knew it was wrong. But it felt so good, and I didn’t think anything could pull me away from him. Every time I thought we couldn’t get any closer, Larry would make it happen. His hand was around my waist, and his other softly touching my face. I allowed my hands to grip his belt loops.

After three and a half minutes of pure ecstasy, the song faded and was replaced by a fast dubstep song. Larry and I pulled away from each other, and I felt like I was in a daze. The side of Larry’s mouth lifted in a half smile, and the next thing I knew, he was making his way back through the crowd, leaving me standing there, mouth agape.

All “Once In A Lifetime” stories written by Cara Ford

3 thoughts on “Once In A Lifetime: Chapter 3

  1. I just keep thinking what if he read this…and if he is nothing like this…he should use it for all it worth!!! Great read!

    • I often wonder if they’ve ever read any of the chapters as well. I think they should, even though there’s clearly going to be traits that completely differ from their real personalities. That’s the fun part, if it we’re me I’d differently read or at least have someone keep me up to speed. These stories are great!

Leave a Reply

