Les Twins’ Interview with Starter FM – Part 1 (w/subtitles in the video)

Okay…  Radio host, Imara of “Cast Me If You Can”, has stated that there will be a translated transcript produced within the week. I’ll do my best to get that posted as soon as it shows up. In the mean time, here’s a pretty temporary and muddled translation by a fellow tumblr user… *UPDATED w/ SUBTITLES IN THE VIDEO*

HOST
We are receiving Larry and Laurent, Les Twins with their dramatic rise. That’s what’s really impressive thanks to your huge talent !

LAU
Huge.. I don’t know. Large size yeah.

LARRY
We try, yeah.

HOST
It’s true that you’re tall.

HOST
Virginie (the other host) was telling me earlier : “I didn’t notice they were that tall ! ”
So yeah they’re tall, handsome and with us, and will talk a bit about them, their career, their dreams, we’ll ask them a lot of questions and they won’t keep secrets from us !

LAU
None, no secrets. Right Larry ?

LARRY
No secrets Laurent, none.

LAU
Ala..(how they use to say “voilà” )

HOST
To start, there’s Laurent, there’s Larry. Who’s Laurent, who’s Larry, can you each define yourself in 3 words what would it be guys ?

LARRY
I have to define my brother or not ?

HOST
Oh we can do that ! Larry describes Laurent and Laurent describes Larry !

LARRY
So Laurent, my brother…

LAU
Don’t bullshit…

LARRY
…Cartoon. He’s like a cartoon, too much. And doubled.

HOST
Alright, ok and you Laurent ?

LAU
My brother…electrical battery, really sweet and everything in the wrong way.

LARRY
Oh ! I think we’ll turn off the radio and we’ll discuss it !

VIRGINIE
Well, there’ll be some gangland killings at the end…

LARRY
No there’s no problem.

VIRGINIE
So, I wanted to know… You’ve been famous thanks to this TV show Incroyable Talent in 2008, that’s what created the buzz.
Do you think that without this show you couldn’t have been that much successful in your professional career ?

LAU
Actually I think that yes. We would have well succeeded anyway because we were already in production with big musicals, a lot of that kind of production all over the world. This permits people who didn’t know hip hop to know us.

HOST
I just want to add that in 2008, every time I went to this club near République (a Paris place)…

LARRY
Oooh the Gibus Club…

LAU
Why do people always make us remember this foolishness ?

HOST
I’m going to tell you. Because everytime I was going, every weekend, I was like “where are the 2 twins ? Oh here they are !” and all night you were putting on a real show…

LARRY
Yeah that’s true…

HOST
And I was hearing some people, even doing the queue saying “yeah I hope Les TWins will be there”, and you haven’t even done the Incroyable Talent show yet, and that’s a 100% true.

LARRY
Yeah it’s true, that was the myth. The training room.

HOST
Then you began dancing for a lot of artists : Sheryfa Luna, LaFouine.. And for your own show too, at the beginning that was huge ! How did you react ? Was it a radical life changing ?

LARRY
That went really fast that’s right. Because we managed to see the big french audience, and it’s true that the french audience is harder than the others.. but we succeeded then we went to Avignon (french city), we did everything !

LAU
We exploded the Avignon Festival!

HOST
What was your best moment since this mediatic explosion ?

LAU
Beyoncé…World Of Dance…

LARRY
In fact there were a lot of events that changed everything.
I couldn’t see myself nominated at the Awards in the US as the best dancer of the world, I couldn’t see Beyoncé giving us a big hug because she couldn’t realize that we were in front of her. That should have been me rather than her who should have been giving her a hug !

HOST
In fact, she’s the one who approached you and was honored ?

LAU
That’s her who was looking for us everywhere.
TRANSLATION PART 2

LARRY
She’s the one who caught us. We were in the US for like 5 days, she caught us and said “Listen to me carefully. You’ll never go back to Paris.”
And we called mom and we said “Mom we are in New York and we’ll stay a year and a half.”

HOST
And the worst memory guys ?

LAU
The worst ? We’ll start talking about women…That’s not gonna be ok…

LARRY
But it doesn’t work ! We’re never there !

HOST
Be careful you have two in front of you, be careful !
There’ll be some gangland killings at the end that’s for sure !

LAU
Let’s stay in the professional way. What did I want to say…(looking at Larry)

LARRY
I don’t know…

HOST
So actually they only knew happiness, that’s what you’re trying to say now ?

LAU
Honestly, only happiness. Because even with what’s going wrong, we manage to make it happen in a great way.

HOST
In life you have to stay positive. Even negative is positive.
So you decided to stay in the US, do you think that you wouldn’t have acheived such a beautiful career in France ?

LARRY
Hum.. not possible, we can’t..

LAU
No that’s the truth..

LARRY
I just want to say thanks to the Juste Debout because it was THE event that made us famous, a big success.
I was really well carried because I have a coach, Abibou and I have a crew named Criminalz and it’s true that without them I’m absolutely nothing !
I have my brother with me, we progress together but we have people behind us making us stay down on earth.

LAU
But thanks to a lot of events and battles that we participated to, this permitted us to travel all around the world actually. Russia, Japan, Italy, and even the US, even countries that we would’nt have heard about.

LARRY
Kazakhstan…

LAU
I never thought I would put one foot there. And I saw some mini twins.

(HOST talking about the next songs she’ll put on)

HOST
So we are with Les Twins…

LAU
I’m chocked when you say my name. Because people pronounce it like Twix or Quix or…

HOST
But we know how to pronounce it !
And it’s a trademark, because even Americans say “You’re here with LES Twins”

LAU
No, Less Twins !

HOST
Make us dream a bit, who are the celebrities you’ve met ?

LAU
To start, the american dream is wonderful. You absolutely have to touch it, to taste it. It’s a total danger for a french person who never saw anything in his life. But going there is just breathing life ! You don’t know where you’re going, you don’t know what you’re doing, but you have to go there !

LARRY
France is not bad too. It’s just that it’s a bit small, that’s all. You have Monaco, it’s a different thing, Cannes in a different thing, Saint Tropez, you have Paris, Montpellier, Bordeaux, Toulouse, but that’s it ! Maybe Nantes (french cities), but that’s it, you see !
But in the US, when you go to San Diego you have a mexican side, a portorican side, a philipino side…

LAU
Just walk in Hollywood ! You meet artists, in the street.

LARRY
Everybody’s free !

LAU
Jim Carrey…You go to a show, you’ll see as a guest Leonardo Di Caprio, you go to restaurants…

LARRY
It’s cute and everyone is attainable it’s just french people…

One thought on “Les Twins’ Interview with Starter FM – Part 1 (w/subtitles in the video)

Leave a Reply

